Appendix 2: Form of documents

1. All documents submitted by the applicant to the University must be duly verified in accordance with the relevant international agreements (list valid as of 1 May 2018):

a. States which have entered into a legal aid agreement with the Czech Republic – original documents are valid on the territory of the contracting states without any further verification. If an applicant submits copies of such documents they must be officially verified copies made by a Czech or a foreign notary, at a Czech embassy abroad or by means of the Czech Point service.

List of states which have entered into a legal aid agreement with the Czech Republic: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Austria, Belgium, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Montenegro, France, Georgia, Yemen, Croatia, People's Republic of Korea, Cuba, Cyprus, Kyrgyzstan, Hungary, Republic of North Macedonia (former Macedonia/FYROM), Moldova, Mongolia, Poland, Romania, the Russian Federation, Greece, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Syria, Spain, Switzerland, the Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vietnam.

b. States which are signatories of a multilateral convention on the simplification of the verification of official documents issued abroad – Convention entitled "Abolishing the Requirement of Legalization for Foreign Public Documents" (The Hague, 5 October 1961, published under No. 45/1999 of the Collection of International Agreements), hereinafter referred to as "The Hague Convention".

For these countries, a uniform verification of documents is stipulated, the so-called Apostille, issued by a competent authority of the country in which the degree certificate was issued (the so-called Apostille authorities).

The list of Apostille authorities is posted on the website of the Hague Conference at <u>http://hcch.evision</u>. nl (Authorities, per Convention, Convention No. 12, direct link:

http://hcch.e-vision.nl/index_en.php?act=conventions.authorities&cid=41).

Documents issued in the the following countries must be verified by the Apostille: Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, the Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cook Islands, Chile, China - only Hong Kong and Macao (legalization is required in the case of other territories of China), Denmark, Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe (since 15 July 2008), Dominica, Dominican Republic (verification by an Apostille clause since 30 August 2009), Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, French territories (i.e. French Polynesia, the French Territory of the Afars and the Issas, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Comoro Islands, Martinique, New Caledonia, Réunion, Saint Pierre and Miguelon, Wallis and Futuna), Grenada (from 7 April 2002 – up to this date it was registered under Great Britain), Guatemala, Honduras, India, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Israel, Jamaica (with effect from 3 July 2021), Japan, Republic of South Africa, Kazakhstan, Colombia, Republic of Korea (South Korea), Kosovo, Costa Rica, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malta, Morocco, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Namibia, Germany, Nicaragua, Niue, the Netherlands and its territories (i.e. the Netherlands Antilles, Aruba), Norway, New Zealand, Oman, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Salvador, Samoa, San Marino, the Seychelles, Singapore (with effect from 16 September 2021), Suriname, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Swaziland, Sweden, Tajikistan, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uruguay, the United States of America and their territories (i.e. American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands of the United States), Great Britain and its territories (i.e. Jersey, the Bailiwick of Guernsey, the Isle of Man, Anguilla, Islands of Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Virgin Islands, British Solomon Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Saint Helena, South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands), Vanuatu, and Venezuela.

In case of documents issued in member countries of the European Union, Norway, the United States of

America, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand it is possible to replace the Apostille (in case of Canada with superlegalization) with an officially verified copy of the documents (similarly to the option a)), providing that, at the same time, at least one of the following conditions has been met:

- A foreign secondary school or higher education institution shall, upon a request sent by the applicant, confirm by e-mail to the Faculty that the applicant is a graduate of this foreign secondary school or higher education institution;
- The foreign higher education institution shall send the Faculty a transcript or a Diploma Supplement of the applicant in a sealed envelope, or the applicant shall submit a transcript in a sealed envelope as part of the documents; or
- The official website of the foreign secondary school or higher education institution enables a verification as to whether the applicant is one of its graduates (e.g. the possibility to download, after entering a password, the transcript of the applicant from the official website of the foreign higher education institution).

c. **Other countries** – documents on completion of study must be superlegalized. In case of a superlegalization, the authenticity of signatures and stamps on the original documents has been verified:

- By the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the country where the secondary school or higher education institution which issued the document has a registered address, or by the relevant foreign authority;
- And also by the relevant Embassy of the Czech Republic.

2. The requirements for the submission of duly verified documents are also considered fulfilled if the applicant submits officially verified copies of documents that were previously verified by that of the methods listed above that applies to the documents submitted by him/her (e.g. in case of a degree certificate issued in Kenya, the applicant submits an officially verified copy of the superlegalized documents).