Tomas Bata University in Zlín

Open in navigation

General Information for Students

Financial Support for Students

International students coming to TBU in Zlín within LPP/Erasmus programmes are eligible for the accommodation scholarship. Applications for accommodation scholarship are to be submitted at the host faculty, signed and passed to the International Office. The students will receive the decision on the accommodation scholarship to be paid during the entire period of their study at TBU in Zlín in the given calendar year. The respective amount will be specified by the relevant Rector’s Decision. Student must collect the scholarship amount in the Main Cash Office at the Rectorate.

On their arrival, international students coming to TBU within LPP/Erasmus programmes will be offered a free course in the Czech language.

International students can take their meals at subsidized prices in the Refectory run by TBU in Zlín.

Students at TBU are eligible for scholarships from state grants for the following reasons:
• Outstanding academic performance
• Significant results of scientific, R&D, arts or other creative activities that contribute to increasing knowledge
• As financial assistance in an extremely serious financial situation
• In cases deserving special consideration.

Scholarships from grants may be awarded also in order to support international students studying in the Czech Republic.

Scholarships are granted and paid to students by the University or the faculty, in compliance with the relevant scholarship regulations.

The International Visegrad Fund offers Master’s and Post-Graduate (Post- Master’s/doctoral) scholarships for study/research of 1 to 4 semesters.

In-Coming Scholarships are available for those students who plan to study at universities in the V4 region (the Czech Republic, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Poland and the Slovak Republic) and are citizens of the following countries: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Georgia, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Russia, Serbia and Ukraine.

Intra-Visegrad Scholarships are offered to applicants from the V4 countries who wish to study/pursue research in another V4 country.

Government Scholarships can be granted during the standard duration of study in:
• Bachelor’s/Master’s programmes incl. a one-year preparatory course in the Czech language. This scholarship is awarded to graduates who enrol in degree programmes in the Czech language.
• Follow-Up Master’s/doctoral programmes – for applicants who enrol in degree programmes with instruction in the English language.

Scholarship applications including all required documents are to be submitted to the respective Czech Embassy in the applicant’s home country.

The Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports of the Czech Republic annually offers scholarships to international students, pursuant to bilateral intergovernmental or inter-ministerial agreements concluded with a number of countries. Scholarships are awarded to applicants nominated by the competent authorities of the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria (researchers only), Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary (researchers only), Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Luxembourg, Mexico, Mongolia, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Vietnam.

Note: Students from Bulgaria, China, Hungary, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Ukraine and Russia can also be enabled to study or pursue research at Czech public higher education institutions. If admitted, the eligible students receive scholarship from the respective authorities in their home countries.

Scholarships of this type are designed for university students or graduates and Ph.D. candidates (exceptionally also for university researchers/teachers) who wish to spend a study period or take a research stay at one of the Czech public higher education institutions. Its duration usually ranges from 2 to 10 months depending upon the agreement between the Czech government and the foreign government concerned, that specifies also the categories of eligible recipients.

The CEEPUS Programme (Central European Exchange Program for University Studies) is an exchange university programme aimed at regional cooperation within university networks. The scholarships granted are intended for undergraduate students, who have completed two semesters of study, postgraduate students and university teachers. Each of the participating countries (Albania, Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia and Prishtina/Kosovo) annually offers a certain number of scholarship months intended for the admission of international students and teachers.

Faculties and departments